Embroidery Floss Storage

11 Sep

When I’m mid project (like, I will literally stop in the middle of a row and grab my laptop) I like to seach random things. Today it is craft storage. Specifically all my embroidery floss I have collected (quite quickly at that.)

When I saw this, I knew I had to do this! So I started on my search for some sweet clothes pins. I went to 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 stores. Yep, five, and could not find them. I search craft stores, grocery stores, even the dollar tree. Why must these buggers hide from me? I could order them online, but look at me, I’m lazy. So I thought, FINE I’ll give in. I’ll use the simple cardboard bobbins by DMC to store my floss.

Then, it came to me. I have tons of scrapbooking paper from my wedding. I could make my own! So I’ll show you how to do it as well.

Whatcha Need:

  • Sweet thick paper – Cardstock, cardboard, whatever you want. (you could just get some cardstock or cardboard and decorate them yourself with neat stamps! Or even paint them some sweet colors.)
  • Cutting Impliment. Perhaps an exacto knife (Like I used) or scissors? Some kind of fancy piece of work?
  • Optional: Cardboard DMC embroidery cardboard bobbins
  • Optional: Glue – I just used a glue stick.

Whatcha Do:

1. Trace the bobbin (or use the cardboard piece you popped them out of as a stencil) and cut out the new bobbin. For the slits that hold the thread I just place the cardboard on top and cut them in the same places.

Then wrap the thread around and write the number on the back. Fancy, aye. If you want or need more stability, you can follow the next couple extra steps.

2. Glue the new bobbin to the old…Yeah, seriously, that easy. I just used a glue stick, glued them together, and did a tiny bit of clean up.

There you go! Quick, cute, and rather inexpensive to update your embroidery collection. If you want them to have more personality, feel free to make your own stencil. maybe a fancier top and bottom? Maybe just stamps on cardboard that has a great shabby chic look.

Show off yours!

Cheers!

Bre

One Response to “Embroidery Floss Storage”

  1. imbuteria September 12, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Reblogged this on Imbuteria's Blog.

Leave a Reply

