New Obsession! Embroidery!

19 Aug

Yep, I am so so addicted to embroidery now.

Sometime long long time ago, when I was 10, I remember learning to cross stitch, and fully forgot it. Over the last year or so I’ve seen so many embroidery projects popping up and began to get intrigued. However I just couldn’t get myself to join in, until now. I was at my local modern fabric store, Bolt and came across some adorable tranfer patterns by Sublime Stitching and Stitcher’s Revolution. they were both under $5 and I just could not resist. When I got home I jumped straight on Sublime Stitching and ordered the Ultimate Embroider Kit.

Dude, so much stuff comes with this, and only for $30! It’s a steal. The one I got had a tea towel, needles, little adorable scissors, patterns, a hoop and some floss. (there is a petite one available as well for $20. It only has 1 pattern and no textile, which is still a great deal!)

After that I hopped onto Colonial Patterns to grab some DMC floss in flesh tones (for my Lady Guadalupe) and some imperfect napkins to practice with.

I got a day of the dead pattern, some classic tattoo flash & tattoo alphabet. I am really looking forward to getting better and perhaps connecting with some kids I know who tattoo and perhaps turning some flash and paintings into embroidery!

I already have requests from a couple friends for some work to be done, which I am delighted to say “hell yes”, I may charge some beer though! Ha.

Oh yeah, as we know by this blog’s name, alcohol and crafting are 2 things I quite enjoy. I can say with embroidery, so far if you have a few drinkings, you can still stitch pretty well. Unless you’re seeing double, that may be an issue.

As an overall customer reaction to both Colonial Patterns and Sublime Stitching, they both get an A+. With Sublime Stitching I did get my order confirmation, but not a notice when it shipped out. However, saying that I also never emailed them and notified them of this error. Both packages came so quickly, it didn’t seem to really matter.

Be prepared to see many neat embroidered goodies on here!

Cheers!

Bre

5 Responses to “New Obsession! Embroidery!”

  1. jenmaaninamman August 20, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    I love these patterns. I’m relatively new to embroidery too and I’m going to the links that you listed to look for the kit.

    • sewbastediwannapurl August 21, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      They are so fun and cute! The kit is so awesome, and had everything I needed to start. Have fun! I’d love to see some of your work.

  2. littlewillowtree August 20, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I love embroidery! It used to be such a huge part of my daily routine and then sewing took over. I have tons of inventory for this still. I came across some napkins to embroider when I was down in San Diego at a thrift store I should have grabbed just for fun… Darn. I actually learned through my grandma loooong time ago. I sure miss it.
    That sugar skull is pretty rad, Bre!

    • sewbastediwannapurl August 21, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      Thanks! I have a few friends asking for my embroidery services now, hehe! You should jump back in!

  3. JAleksy27 August 22, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    I shall pay you in beer for all of your creative works!! (Hair, embroidery… hmmm, I’ll have to start brainstorming some more requests!!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

