“Double up the rib, extra slouch on top. Please” beanie

22 Feb

Thank you Ashlee for modeling.

So we’re gonna try to do the first installment of  Tutorial Tuesday. I’d like to introduce my first posted pattern: the double up the rib, extra slouch on the top please beanie. Excited? You should be.

This Sunday I went with my Fiancé’s family to meet his grandparents & some aunts and uncles a couple hours away.  On this trip, I decided to kick my ass into gear and knit something. I’ve been quite the fan of the double rib brims that are extra long. I only had a pair of straight needles with me so I decided to knit this flat.

Well here’s the pattern:

Double up the rib, extra slouch on top. Please.

Needle: US8 / 5.0mm

Yarn: Bulky 12ply – Spud & Chloe Outer in Soapstone

Gauge: 12st x 18rw = 4″ st st

 

I use some kind of typical long tail cast on. I am one of those knitters who just uses 1 general cast on for most things. Probably not the most strategic, but aye, what can I say?

Cast on 60 sts.

Row 1: *K2, P2 -repeat from star…as in do an awesome 2×2 rib.

Row 2:  *P2, K2 – Repeat from star, I know, totally surprising.

Repeat these 2 rows for about 4.5″.

Once you get to a stopping point (the end of the brim) it’s time for the fun Stockinette stitch.

Row3: Knit all.

Row4: Purl all.

I do recommend to slip the first stitch of each row to make for a smoother side for hemming.

Repeat for about 2.5″ Time to decrease.

Row 5: *K8, K2tog – Repeat all the way through

Row 6: Purl.

(for all even/wrong side rows you will purl)

Row 7: K7, K2tog

Row 9: K6, K2tog

Row 11: K5, K2tog

Row 13: K4, K2tog

….I’m sure you are seeing a pattern now.

Row 15: K3, K2tog  – Row 17: K2, K2tog – Row 19: K1, K2tog

ALMOST THERE!

Row 21: K2tog all stitches, leaving 6 on needle.

Cut a long tail for weaving about 3 times the length of the hat. Run the end through the remaining stitches. Now use the rest of the end to hem the hat together. I do this with the wrong side facing me. Now I am going to admit I am not to good at this, I always seem to jack it up somehow and one side is higher. I hope, you have more patience than me. Haha.

Now since I used a Cotton blend, the hat is a bit stiff. I would recommend using a larger needle 1-2 sizes larger after the brim to give it more of a relaxed slouch. I would love to see your finished hats! This pattern is now available on Ravelry if you would like to “cast on” there.

As a warning, this pattern has not been test knit. So please, please, please feel free to tell me if there’s any information is wrong. Hope you enjoy this pattern well!

 

Happy Knitting,

Bre


9 Responses to ““Double up the rib, extra slouch on top. Please” beanie”

  1. Chase Clark l Oh the Cuteness! February 22, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Hey Breena! Love your blog, and I love this hat pattern. I will link to it on one of my upcoming How-Tuesday posts over at my blog. Have fun in Portland, you lucky girl! (By the way, your engagement pictures on Facebook were adorable!)

    • sewbastediwannapurl February 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Thank Chase! So funny I was just looking at your blog in amazement on how quickly you knitted up a sweater! Hehe. Thanks for the support!
      Ashley’s boyfriend did the engagement pics, he’s so talented it always amazes me. Can’t wait to see this pattern on your site :D.

      Best,
      Bre

  2. Sharon Camp February 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Love this pattern. I was looking for one to make for a Christmas present, where was your blog two months ago. 🙂
    From one crafty lady to another
    Sharon

  3. angel laforme March 6, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Thanks great pattern. I enjoyed knitting it. I will be making another one soon.

    • sewbastediwannapurl March 17, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Thanks Angel, it’s great to hear it worked well for you! We’d love to see a picture of yours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. |Take In Them Jeans Tutorial| « Sew Basted I Wanna Purl - February 22, 2011

    […] idea of ‘Tutorial Tuesdays’. Read her tutorial on an awesomely adorable slouch beanie here. […]

  2. Tweets that mention “Double up the rib, extra slouch on top. Please” beanie « Sew Basted I Wanna Purl -- Topsy.com - February 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by basteandpurl, Breana Padilla. Breana Padilla said: My first pattern posted on the interwebs on my blog http://wp.me/pN45k-1Z and on Ravelry! Go check it out! […]

  3. Gauge is Important Part 1 – Basic Gauge Swatch « Sew Basted I Wanna Purl - March 17, 2011

    […] Today, I will focus on how to do a everyday gauge swatch, and what tools are handy for this. I’m going to use a pattern I made up literally the other day while knitting in a van to meet my Fiancé’s extended family. I’ll call this pattern “Double up the rib, extra slouch on top please” beanie. You can see this pattern here: https://sewbastediwannapurl.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/double-up-the-rib-extra-slouch-on-top-please-bea… […]

  4. Gauge is Important Part 2 – Altering a Pattern « Sew Basted I Wanna Purl - May 12, 2011

    […] Not onto how else knowing your gauge will help. I have a very small head compared to others, this can create a pattern. Along with that, I knit loose. This can cause a problem in knitting up a clothing item.  Today we will be using my “Double up the rib, extra slouch on top please” beanie […]

Leave a Reply

