Tutorial Tuesday: Butt Gap!

31 May

When asking for tutorials, my friend Riana asked about how to get rid of the dreaded butt gap. The lucky girls are reading going “wtf is butt gap?” Well I have been blessed with a bubble butt. Along with that bubble butt, I don’t really have hips, and my waist is an about average 10″ difference from my hips. Since I don’t have hips, but ba-donk-a-donk, buying jeans can be an issue. A stressful, annoying issue.

You know when you put your jeans on and they fit perfect in front, maybe snug, BUT of course in the back it pops out? Ugh, how annoying, right? So when you bend over your pants fall down and half your crack is hanging out. Yet when you put on a belt to try to relieve it, you get that bunch in the back. Well with my knowledge of darts, and advice from seamstress co-worker Andrea, I fixed my pants! All you need are a sewing machine (or needle and thread if you have patience), couple pins, and the jeans.

First thing I do is put on the pants and check out how much gap is in the donk.

Please excuse the blur. Taking pictures of you bum is harder than you’d think.

Now I’m pulling in this picture, but you probably won’t need to. Try to evaluate and guess how large the gap is. Hmm, 2 inches maybe?

Pick the spots that you will be sewing in the darts. Usually a good spot to pick are the middle-right side, and middle left side. If you have a larger bum bum, or the pants are really gappy, you can also add one right in the middle as well.

If your pants have belt loops around these marks, you are very lucky. You can temporarily remove these guys and put the darts here, so they are more hidden. Yes it takes work, but it’s totally worth it if you get the chance. Sadly, most of my jeans don’t have belt loops in the right spot. Now remember when marking/pinning, you don’t have to have it go as far down as mine are. You could try to just do it on the top section if you like. But this doesn’t always remove the whole gap.

So if you had about 2″ gap, pinch the marked spot and pin. You want to start sewing on top about 1/2″.

This one was about 1/4″. This is already sewn, but this shows what I mean by pinch.

This one is about 1/2″. Now if you are like me (impatient, and can’t sew straight) your line will look like this beauty. Since it was really thick, my pants got stuck under the foot of my machine, haha. I’m not too picky, and it gets the job done.  Notice how it is sewn at an angle. That is what helps with the contour of your body. So there’s still room for the butt, but now it will fit a bit more snug on the waist/hip.

This is what it should look like after:

Oh the beauty.

Try on your pants. If it’s too tight, you will need to take out the seam, and just re-do it (1/4″ instead of 1/2″. Since it’s on the fold, the 1/2″ is a whole 1″ taken off the waist.) If you need more taken off, just make another line further in.

After all of that, you still have one more option. IF you want a neater look, you can sew the darts flat. Just fold it over to one side, and sew the top, and bam, it’s flat. I don’t really bother, cause as you all know, I’m lazy, haha.

And there you go! My donk! In my altered jeans! Now I won’t have to worry much more when I need to bend over. While you’re at it, you can check out my Zoeanddoyle Tension engagement ring. Tehe.

Well I hope this helps you girls (and lads) with the awful butt gap!

Happy Altering!

Bre

One Response to “Tutorial Tuesday: Butt Gap!”

  1. Riana O May 31, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Thank you Breana! You are awesome. Now I just need to get my sewing machine back up here! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

